skip navigation

Elk River's Gabi Haack is the Metro Player of the Year in girls' basketball

By Jim Paulsen, Star Tribune, 03/14/17, 2:45PM CDT


Haack's stellar season sent the Elks to the state tournament for the first time in more than a decade.

“We’ve always known she was a talented player. She’s very mature, very focused on improving and making herself a better player,” Elks coach Jeremy Digiovanni said about Gabi Haack, the Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year. Photo courtesy of Carlos Gonzalez • cgonzalez@startribune.com

It wasn’t long into the girls’ basketball season before Gabi Haack’s name appeared atop the metro scoring leaders,  some sit-up-and-take-notice numbers next to it. Eyebrows were raised, chins were scratched.

Elk River’s 5-10 senior guard was far from an unknown commodity. She had been a varsity starter since ninth grade and had scored in double figures in 46 of her previous 52 games dating back to her sophomore season. She played AAU basketball for North/Tartan, the state’s top AAU program, and committed to play for Division I Bradley University in Peoria, Ill.

But the numbers Haack (pronounced Hawk) was posting showed more than just the typical improvement that comes with age and experience. She scored more than 30 points in four of the Elks’ first six games after hitting the 30-point mark just twice previously. Through 10 games, Haack was averaging 30 points per game. Soon after, she set a school single-game record with 45 points in a victory over Moorhead.

“I never thought things would go this well,” Haack said.

She is currently averaging 26.1 points per game, still enough to lead the metro. Not coincidentally, the Elks (29-0) are headed to the state tournament for the first time since 2006.

Phenomenal improvement plus undefeated season plus state tournament appearance equals the Star Tribune 2017 girls’ basketball Metro Player of the Year. Click to view the Star Tribune All-Metro teams.

“We’ve always known she was a talented player,” said Jeremy Digiovanni, who took over as head coach of the Elks this season after four years as an assistant. “She’s very mature, very focused on improving and making herself a better player.”

When she found downtime between high school and AAU basketball commitments, Haack hit the gym at the local YMCA, getting better, improving her game. The driving force, she said, was her own conscience.

“I’m kind of self-motivated,” Haack said. “Before the season, I was going to the Y on my own every day on weekends and once or twice a week, shooting and running and lifting, trying to get into better shape. My dad was there a lot to rebound for me, but no one ever pushed me to do it.”

What did drive her, Haack said, was being overlooked by so many before the season started.

“At the beginning of the season, there wasn’t much publicity,” she recalled. “I didn’t make the cover of ‘The Breakdown’ [a preseason preview magazine]. I’m like, ‘Oh, that’s cool. I’m just going to have to go out and show them and make a name for myself.’ ”

As her season progressed and her level of play barely wavered, those who ignored her came sniffing around. In addition to being named Metro Player of the Year, she became a strong candidate for the Ms. Basketball and Gatorade Player of the Year awards.

“As we kept winning and I was getting more and more confident, my athletic director told me some of the awards I was up for,” Haack said. “I was shocked. I never expected to be nominated for any of them.”

“I guess,” she said, “all my hard work has paid off.”


Jim Paulsen • 612-673-7737

How the metro player of the year was chosen

The metro player of the year was chosen based on nominations from metro-area coaches, conversations with a panel of coaches and staff observations.


Past Star Tribune Metro Players of the Year

2016 Taylor Koenen,Shakopee
2015 Madison Guebert, Eastview
2014 Chase Coley, Minneapolis Washburn
2013 Nia Coffey, Hopkins
2012 Marissa Janning, Watertown-Mayer
2011 Rachel Banham, Lakeville North
2010 Cassie Rochel, Lakeville North
         Rachel Banahm, Lakeville North
2009 Tayler Hill, Minneapolis South
2008 Tayler Hill, Minneapolis South
2007 Angel Robinson, St. Paul Central
2006 Jenna Smith, Bloomington Kennedy
2005 Ashley Ellis-Milan, St. Paul Central
2004 Leslie Knight, Hopkins
2003 Liz Podominick, Lakeville
         Jamie Broback, Eastview
2002 Liz Podominick, Lakeville
2001 April Calhoun, Armstrong
1999 Mauri Horton, Minneapolis North
1998 Tamara Moore, Minneapolis North
1997 Carolyn Moos, Blake
1996 Carolyn Moos, Blake
1995 Sally Albers, Apple Valley
         Linda Shudlick, Apple Valley
1994 Kay Schmidt, Bloomington Kennedy
1993 Tracy Henderson, Minneapolis Henry
1992 Cheri Stafford, Blaine
1991 Shannon Loeblein, St. Paul Harding
1990 Shannon Loeblein, St. Paul Harding
1989 Stacy Carver, Buffalo
1988 Margaret Nowlin, Cretin-Derham Hall
1987 Mya Whitmore, Hill-Murray
1986 Jennifer Hall, Burnsville
1985 Janet Cobbs, Concordia Academy

Spotlight Games

Most Popular