skip navigation

Hopkins' Nia Hollie named Miss Basketball

By Sport Ngin, 04/09/16, 1:15AM CDT


The 6-foot-1 forward is the second Royals' player to win the award, which is given to the state's top senior.

Hopkins forward Nia Hollie was named Minnesota's 2016 Miss Basketball. Photo by Cheryl Myers

Hopkins' Nia Hollie was named Minnesota's 2016 Miss Basketball on Friday night at the Minnesota Girls' High School All-Star Series banquet in Northfield.

The award is presented by the Minnesota Girls’ Basketball Coaches Association and given to the state's top senior player. The other finalists were Taylor Koenen (Shakopee), Jamie Ruden (Rochester John Marshall), Kiara Russell (Osseo) and Abi Scheid (Elk River).

Hollie guided the Royals to a 29-3 record this season and a second consecutive appearance in the Class 4A state title game, where she scored a team-high 34 points in a 61-52 loss to Lake Conference rival Minnetonka. Hollie won state championships with Hopkins in 2013 and 2015.

The 6-foot-1 forward, who averaged 17.0 points per game this season, was named to the Star Tribune All-Metro First Team and to the Minnesota Associated Press 2016 All-State First Team in March. She was selected to the Class 4A all-tournament and all-state teams.

The Michigan State commit finished her career as Hopkins' second-leading all-time scorer and is the program's second player to earn the honor. Leslie Knight, the Royals' all-time leading scorer, won the award in 2004.

Miss Basketball Award Winners

1978 Laura Gardner Bloomington Jefferson
1979 Jean Tierney St. Paul Central
1980 Janet Karvonen New York Mills
1981 Kelly Skalicky Albany
1982 Annie Adamczak Moose Lake
1983 Angela Kuehn Minnesota Academy for the Deaf
1984 None None
1985 Kristi Kremer (A)
Denis Holm (AA)
Duluth East
1986 Laurie Decker (A)
Amy Davidson (AA)
Rochester Lourdes
St. Louis Park
1987 Laurie Decker (A)
Mya Whitmore (AA)
Rochester Lourdes
1988 Mary Jo Miller (A)
Carolyn Frisk (AA)
1989 Yoli Murphy (A)
Jessica Fiebelkorn (AA)
1990 Carol Ann Shudlick Apple Valley
1991 Shannon Loeblien St. Paul Harding
1992 Stacy Fields Mounds View
1993 Kasey Morlock Stewartville
1994 Kjersten Miller Bloomington Jefferson
1995 Linda Shudlick Apple Valley
1996 Sue Fiero Goodhue
1997 Coco Miller
Kelly Miller
Rochester Mayo
1998 Tamara Moore Minneapolis North
1999 Mauri Horton Minneapolis North
2000 Susan King Holy Angels
2001 April Calhoun Robbinsdale Armstrong
2002 Shannon Bolden Marshall
2003 Liz Podominick Lakeville
2004 Leslie Knight Hopkins
2005 Katie Ohm Elgin-Millville
2006 Jenna Smith Bloomington Kennedy
2007 Angel Robinson St. Paul Central
2008 Courtney Boylan Chaska
2009 Tayler Hill Minneapolis South
2010 Cassie Rochel Lakeville North
2011 Rachel Banham Lakeville North
2012 Marissa Janning Watertown-Mayer
2013 Rebekah Dahlman Braham
2014 Carlie Wagner NRHEG
2015 Madison Guebert Eastview
2016 Nia Hollie Hopkins
2017 Gabi Haack Elk River
2018 Megan Walstad Eastview
2019 Kacie Borowicz Roseau
2020 Paige Bueckers Hopkins

Most Popular