skip navigation

Meet the 2020 Star Tribune girls' basketball All-Metro team

By JIM PAULSEN, Star Tribune, 03/09/20, 5:45PM CDT


Scroll down to see who made the second and third teams as well.

The all-metro first team, from left: Adalia McKenzie, Park Center; Mackenzie Kramer, St. Michael-Albertville; Metro Player of the Year Paige Bueckers, Hopkins; Lauren Jensen, Lakeville North, and Mallory Brake, Hastings. Photo: CARLOS GONZALEZ ¥ cgonzalez@startribune.com

All-Metro first team

All-Metro second team

Sophie Hart
Farmington, 6-4, junior, center

Elevated her game in the wake of injuries to teammates Paige Kinseth and Molly Mogenson.

Mara Braun
Wayzata, 5-11, sophomore, guard

Heady floor leader who doesn’t get flustered, can score and creates for her teammates.

Maya Nnaji
Hopkins, 6-4, sophomore, center

Long-armed athletic matchup nightmare, averaged 19.2 points, 8.2 rebounds.

Jenna Johnson
Wayzata, 6-0, junior, guard/forward

Offensive force, cinch first-team selection if not for a knee injury that sideline her for the final month of the season.

Mallory Heyer
Chaska, 6-1, sophomore, center

Efficient and effective in the post, averaged 20.0 points per game, topped 1,000 career points this season.

All-Metro third team

Liza Karlen, Stillwater, 6-2, senior, forward
Annika Stewart, Wayzata, 6-4, senior, center
Alexis Pratt, Stillwater, 5-5, junior, guard
Tessa Johnson, St. Michael-Albertville, 5-10, freshman, guard
Molly Mogensen, Farmington, 5-7, senior, guard
Julie Bengtson, Becker, 5-9, junior, guard
Maggie Czinano, Watertown-Mayer, 5-1, junior, guard

How the team was chosen

The Star Tribune’s all-metro teams and Metro Player of the Year were chosen based on nominations from metro-area coaches, conversations with a panel of coaches and staff observations.

Girls' Basketball Hub Headlines

Feed for https://www.startribune.com/sports/index.rss2